

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Director Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

Montezuma FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Business Management CDE

AMES, IOWA--The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event on April 18, 2023. Members of the first place team included: Camryn Brennan, Cruz Dejong, Makenna Johannes, and Madison Van Zee. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms Hannah Garland. The Little Switzerland FFA Chapter from Waukon was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Elizabeth Fossum, Alaina Gebel, Cassidy Gibbs, and Kiersten Gibbs. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Jessica O'Connor. Camryn Brennan, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The Manson Northwest Webster FFA Chapter from Manson was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 0 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 383 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

The Iowa FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event was made possible with support from Hertz Farm Management through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Dr. Amani Elobeid, Teaching Professor at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test.

Top 10 Teams

- 1 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 2 Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon
- 3 Easton Valley FFA at Preston
- 4 Newton FFA, Newton
- 5 Iowa River FFA, Garner
- 6 Hawkeye FFA, West Bend
- 7 West Lyon FFA, Inwood
- 8 MFL MarMac FFA, Monona
- 9 Holland FFA, Orange City
- 10 Harlan FFA, Harlan

Top 10 Individuals

Camryn Brennan, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Cruz Dejong, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Makenna Johannes, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Hayden Holdgrafer, Easton Valley FFA at Preston Madison Van Zee, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Elizabeth Fossum, Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon Tyconder Ellis, AC/GC FFA Zachary Rabe, Holland FFA, Orange City Ross Tuttle, Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe Joey Portz, Easton Valley FFA at Preston Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (29)

Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon Easton Valley FFA at Preston Newton FFA, Newton Iowa River FFA, Garner Hawkeye FFA, West Bend West Lyon FFA, Inwood MFL MarMac FFA, Monona Holland FFA, Orange City Harlan FFA, Harlan Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis AC/GC FFA Le Mars FFA Chapter, Le Mars East Union FFA, Afton West Dubuque FFA, Epworth North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA **DeWitt Central FFA** Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Nashua Plainfield FFA, Nashua Cedar Rapids Prairie Independence FFA, Independence Crestwood FFA, Cresco Dike-New Hartford FFA Pekin FFA, Packwood Fremont-Mills FFA, Tabor MVAO FFA Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids Davis County FFA, Bloomfield

Bronze Teams (36)

South Hamilton FFA, Jewell Hinton FFA Chapter WACO FFA Central Lyon FFA, Rock Rapids Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes West Delaware FFA, Manchester South O'Brien FFA Wapsie Valley FFA, Fairbank Algona FFA, Algona Interstate 35 FFA Tri-County FFA, Thornburg Earlham FFA, Earlham North Scott FFA at Eldridge Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr

Silver Teams (37)

Audubon FFA, Audubon OABCIG Starmont FFA, Arlington Atlantic FFA, Atlantic Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe Riceville FFA, Riceville Humboldt FFA, Humboldt Monticello FFA Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson Pilot Creek FFA, Pocahontas Bondurant-Farrar FFA North Tama FFA Hillcrest Academy FFA, Kalona Ridge View FFA, Holstein Western Christian FFA, Hull Decorah FFA, Decorah Waverly-Shell Rock FFA, Waverly Southeast Warren FFA, Liberty Center Unity Christian FFA Brokaw FFA, Clarinda Linn-Mar FFA, Marion Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood Hudson FFA Chapter, Hudson New Hampton FFA, New Hampton Newell-Fonda FFA, Newell Maquoketa Valley FFA Estherville FFA, Estherville Belle Plaine FFA Osage FFA, Osage Osceola Big Chief FFA, Osceola Alburnett FFA, Alburnett North Mahaska FFA, New Sharon Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn FFA Indianola FFA, Indianola South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City Colo-Nesco FFA, Colo Denison FFA, Denison

Carroll Area FFA, Carroll Murray FFA, Murray East Sac FFA, Lake View Postville FFA Akron-Westfield FFA, Akron Cascade FFA Mt. Pleasant FFA Winterset FFA, Winterset Wilton FFA, Wilton Forest City FFA, Forest City Cherokee FFA Panorama FFA, Panora George-Little Rock FFA MMCRU FFA Lynnville-Sully FFA Central Springs Glidden-Ralston FFA, Glidden Belmond-Klemme FFA, Belmond Sioux Center FFA, Sioux Center Columbus FFA, Columbus Junction Tipton FFA, Tipton

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of more than 19,000 student members as part of 260 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.